Remedial Measures

Propitiatory & Strengthening Remedies

Remedies In Vedic Tradition

The divine science of Vedic Astrology has the ability to show us trends in life and can tell us in advance when there will be favorable or unfavorable times. The natal chart tells us the periods and the types of suffering we are likely to face from birth. These problems in life are caused by weak planets and/or afflictions to these planets that rule various aspects of our lives. To help overcome the problems associated with these planets, we can suggest appropriate propitiatory and strengthening astrological remedies.

In the Vedic tradition, the royalty of India all had an Ayurvedic Physician, Astrologer, and Western Physician in their ‘court.’ The newborns were given their supportive gemstones at birth, and the remedies and strengthening agents were applied throughout life. The remedies of Systems’ Approach Vedic Astrology have proven themselves to one after another and now magnificent numbers of people have seen benefits in their lives.

Functional Benefic Planets

Functional Malefic Planets

Based on each horoscope there are a list of favorable planets and unfavorable planets. The favorable planets are “the tires on your bus of life” They want to provide the best results for you in life.

If they are strong in degrees, well placed, and free from affliction they will provide the best support in the areas of your life that they rule. If they are weak in degrees, poorly placed, or afflicted they will not be able to provide us full support. 

Fortunately, you can now strengthen any and all of these planets, to provide better support for you.

As Functional Benefic planets, you can safely and effectively strengthen them by wearing and/or surrounding yourself with the vibration of the planet(s) you wish to strengthen. The two most traditional and effective ways include gemstone and color therapy. These both carry strong vibrations, associated with particular planets. You can also strengthen the planets through the mystical pendant known as the Kavach.

Based on each horoscope there are a list of favorable and unfavorable planets. The unfavorable planets are decided by which signs fall in the auspicious houses of the chart. If a mooltrikona sign (numbers 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, or 11 fall in the 6th, 8th, 0r 12th houses) the planet ruling this sign comes a functional malefic planet in the chart.

These functional malefic planet can cause issues depending on what house they rule. A planet ruling the inauspicious sixth house can bring conflicts, debts, disputes, health and financial issues, a planet ruling the inauspicious eighth house can bring setbacks, delays, disappointments, vulnerability, transformations, and death like experience, a planet ruling the inauspicious twelfth house can bring losses, expenses, separations, hospitalizations, isolation, insomnia, and lack of intimacy. For the functional malefic planets that can cause adverse effects in our lives, we want to reduce their impact through the regular practice of spiritual practices and offering propitiatory (peace making) charities concerning these planets.


Below is more information regarding how to strengthen benefic planets and propitiate/honor malefic planets with reference to your Vedic astrology rising sign, (not Sun or Moon sign).


Try replacing some of the items in the list with items that are the favorable colors for your chart.

Clothing, bed sheets and blankets, home decor, drinking glasses, sunglasses, and vehicles. You can even put up tinted cellophane over a window in your home to let the colored light through. Get creative!


COLORS: Orange and Pink

GEMSTONES: Ruby/Red Spinel/Rhodolite Garnet

BENEFICIAL FOR: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Aquarius

UNFAVORABLE FOR: Virgo, Capricorn, Pisces



GEMSTONES: Pearl/Moonstone

BENEFICIAL FOR: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Capricorn, Pisces

UNFAVORABLE FOR: Leo, Sagittarius, Aquarius


COLORS: Burning red


BENEFICIAL FOR: Aries, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces

UNFAVORABLE FOR: Taurus, Virgo, Scorpio


COLORS: Dark green

GEMSTONES: Emerald/Green Tourmaline/Green Peridot

BENEFICIAL FOR: Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Pisces

UNFAVORABLE FOR: Aries, Libra, Aquarius


COLORS: Yellow and Bright Green

GEMSTONES: Yellow Sapphire/Yellow Citrine/Yellow Topaz

BENEFICIAL FOR: Aries, Gemini, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Aquarius, Pisces

UNFAVORABLE FOR: Taurus, Cancer, Capricorn


COLORS: Royal Blue and Variegated Colors

GEMSTONES: Diamond/White Sapphire/White Topaz/White Zircon/Phenakite

BENEFICIAL FOR: Aries, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius

UNFAVORABLE FOR: Taurus, Scorpio, Pisces


COLORS: Navy Blue, Black, Dark Brown

GEMSTONES: Blue Sapphire/Blue Spinel

BENEFICIAL FOR: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius

UNFAVORABLE FOR: Cancer, Virgo, Pisces

Contrary to what some astrologer may say, nobody should ever wear cat’s eye or hessonite gemstones for Rahu and Ketu the northern and southern nodes of the Moon.

Gemstones can be worn either on a pendant or as listed below:

Ruby on left ring finger

Pearl on left little finger

Red Coral on left/right ring finger

Emerald on right little finger

Yellow Sapphire on right index finger

Diamond on right right finger

Blue Sapphire on left middle finger

The Kavach or special power Kavach contains mystical numbers of all functional benefic planets for a particular ascendant and replaces the need to wear several expensive gemstones in order to strengthen the benefic planets in your chart.


The charities and chants listed below are best to perform or listen to for each planet on their respective days. You can listen to the appropriate chants for your chart on YouTube.


CHARITIES: Helping your father or father-in-law, or elderly men, and doing a yoga posture known as “Surya Namaskar” (Sunrise Salutations)

CHANTS: Lord Vishnu


BENEFICIAL FOR: Virgo, Capricorn, Pisces


CHARITIES: Helping women who are like mothers

CHANTS: Lord Shiva


BENEFICIAL FOR: Leo, Sagittarius, Aquarius


CHARITIES: Helping your brother(s) or men who are like brothers, exercising patience, and ten minutes of morning prayers.

CHANTS: Lord Hanuman


BENEFICIAL FOR: Taurus, Virgo, Scorpio


CHARITIES: Helping students/children (food, clothing, donations or tutoring.)

CHANTS: Goddess Durga


BENEFICIAL FOR: Aries, Libra, Aquarius


CHARITIES: Helping gurus/teachers

CHANTS: Brahma


BENEFICIAL FOR: Taurus, Cancer, Capricorn


CHARITIES: Helping women who are like sisters

CHANTS: Goddess Lakshmi


BENEFICIAL FOR: Taurus, Scorpio, Pisces


CHARITIES: Helping the poor and the needy

CHANTS: Shani Dev


BENEFICIAL FOR: Cancer, Virgo, Pisces


CHARITIES: Service to parents, helping the poor and the needy, feeding the birds

CHANTS: Bhairava

BEST DAY TO PERFORM: Any Day of the Week or Mondays


CHARITIES: Donating to animal shelters, helping holy persons and organizations, helping the elderly

CHANTS: Lord Ganesha

BEST DAY TO PERFORM: Any Day of the Week or Thursdays

Ishta Devata

The Ishta Devata or personal deity for each rising sign (not Sun or Moon sign) is seen below. You can keep a picture of this deity in your home and listen to chants for this deity from time to time for better support in life.

ARIES: Goddess Durga

TAURUS: Lord Vishnu

GEMINI: Goddess Lakshmi

CANCER: Lord Shiva

LEO: Goddess Durga

VIRGO: Lord Vishnu

LIBRA: Goddess Lakshmi

SCORPIO: Lord Shiva

SAGITTARIUS: Goddess Durga

CAPRICORN: Lord Vishnu

AQUARIUS: Goddess Lakshmi

PISCES: Lord Shiva